Les Ailleurs

THE FESTIVAL TO EXPLORE IMMERSION


06.04 - 11.07.2021

at La Gaîté Lyrique

Tuesday - Friday : 2pm - 8pm

Saturday - Sunday : 12pm - 7pm



Virtual reality, augmented reality, spatialized soundscapes, interactive screens… What do these immersive technologies have to say about our times ?


In the company of artists, authors and thinkers interested, Fisheye is partnering with Gaîté Lyrique to announce a new rendez-vous dedicated to immersive experiences. Expand your perceptions, immerse into soundscapes, and become one with new stories, between April 6 and July 11, 2021. Visitors to Les Ailleurs will discover a selection of immersive and multi-sensorial experiences, in a newly designed space at La Gaîté Lyrique. The event’s program, put together by Fabbula curators, consists of an exhibition of immersive installations, workshops, talks and performances suitable for all public, exploring immersion in every shape and form.


Follow us !




Have you created an immersive artwork ?


Answer the call for projects and be part of the 2021 edition.


Deadline : January 31, 2021, Midnight CET


Got a question ?

contact@lesailleurs.art



A New Rendez-Vous

Les Ailleurs, dedicated to the confluence between virtual reality and the general public, is the continuation of VR Arles Festival, an event founded five years ago by Fisheye, Les Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles and BNP Paribas. “Our main goal for this next edition is to create the best environment for authors and the public to interact with each other”, explains Benoit Baume, founder of Fisheye and VR Arles Festival. “If visitors forget the technology, if they explore our immersive experiences and come out with an -even slightly- transformed perception of the world, we’ll have succeeded” adds Victoire Thevenin, artistic director for the festival.


The festival’s common thread ? Questioning and renewing our perceptions of reality : “Immersion and its narrative power really help going beyond current frontiers of reality” says Benoit Rousseau, artistic director of La Gaîté Lyrique. “They offer the possibility to dive into other iterations of reality, to live within different imaginaries and reclaim stories of a world in transition”, Anna Tardivel, artistic programming of La Gaîté Lyrique.


Programmation

On one hand an interactive exhibition, Les Ailleurs also hosts performances available live on Twitch and Youtube; a conference cycle on current events in the immersive art world entitled “Les Rencontres du Virtuel”; physical and virtual concerts; masterclasses and performances.


In order to make the technologies used to create such artworks accessible to younger visitors, Les Ailleurs will invite Capitaine Futur, the 5-12 youth workshops hosted at La Gaite Lyrique, and will offer recurring DIY workshops echoing the festival’s program, for each age group : augmented reality games, interactive games, sound immersion, VR narration... An immersive artist in residence will lead the workshops at La Gaîté Lyrique for five months.


The complete program will be revealed during the March 11, 2021 press conference at La Gaîté Lyrique, at 9am CET.


Ten digital artworks in competition

Les Ailleurs is both an exhibition and a competition. The ten immersive experiences programmed in the festival make use of various multi sensorial and immersive technologies : virtual, augmented or mixed reality, spatialized sound design, interactive screens… They will compete for the festival’s Grand Prix (5000€), awarded by a multi disciplinary jury during the opening week.


Co-organized by Fisheye and La Gaîté Lyrique,

with special support from BNP Paribas

Fisheye

A magazine that deciphers the world through contemporary photography, photo galleries dedicated to emerging talents, a content producer, and an incubator for startups working with digital technologies and images : Fisheye transfigures photographic languages and their culture. Since 2016, Fisheye has produced artworks and events that explore virtual and sensitive subject matters by collaborating with some of the greatest contemporary pioneers of virtual technologies.

La Gaîté Lyrique

Cultural Institution of Ville de Paris, La Gaîté Lyrique is a media center for post internet culture. These artistic practices, born and transformed by the internet, are exhibited but also imagined, made, experimented with and shared at Gaite Lyrique. A space to discover and understand the virtualized times we live in, it is also a space for celebration, creativity, and sharing.

Les Rencontres d’Arles

Historical partner and cofounder of VR Arles Festival, Les Rencontres d’Arles are a true springboard for virtual art-making and will present with Fisheye an innovation-driven immersive exhibition space in 2021 in Arles. This event will highlight the links between digital technologies and photography.


The fourth edition of the writing residency for virtual reality, supported by Institut Français and the Région Sud will take place during Les Rencontres d’Arles in August 2021. Artists invited to develop their projects will continue to explore XR (Extended Reality, acronym for immersive technologies) creation and preempt new territories and genres.

Les Ailleurs

LE FESTIVAL QUI EXPLORE L'IMMERSION


06.04 - 11.07.2021

À la Gaîté Lyrique

Du mardi au vendredi : 14h-20h

Les week-ends : 12h-19h



Réalité virtuelle, augmentée, spatialisation sonore, écrans interactifs, que racontent ces nouvelles technologies du virtuel sur notre époque ?


En compagnie des artistes, auteur.e.s et penseur.e.s qui défrichent ces nouveaux médiums, Fisheye s’associe à la Gaîté Lyrique pour proposer un nouveau rendez-vous dédié aux expériences immersives. Augmenter ses perceptions, s’immerger dans des paysages sonores, faire corps avec des nouveaux récits, du 6 avril au 11 juillet 2021, le public de la Gaîté Lyrique découvrira une sélection des meilleures expériences immersives et multi-sensorielles mondiales, dans un nouvel espace dédié aux écritures immersives. La programmation, réalisée en partenariat avec Fabbula, articule une exposition d’œuvres numériques, des ateliers de découverte et des animations à destination de tous les publics, explorant l’immersion sous toutes ses formes.


Suivez nous!




Vous êtes auteur.e d’une œuvre immersive ?


Participez à l’appel à candidatures pour faire partie de l’exposition 2021.


Date limite : 31.01.2021 à minuit.


Vous avez une question ?

contact@lesailleurs.art



Un nouveau rendez-vous

La réflexion sur la rencontre entre réalité virtuelle et grand public a commencé en 2016 : Les Ailleurs est une évolution du VR Arles Festival, manifestation créée par Fisheye, les Rencontres d’Arles et BNP Paribas. «L’enjeu de cette nouvelle édition est de créer les meilleures conditions de rencontre entre des auteurs et le public,” explique Benoît Baume, fondateur de Fisheye et du festival Les Ailleurs. “Si les visiteurs oublient la technologie, explorent ces lieux du sensible et en sortent avec une perception du monde un petit peu transformée, alors on aura réussi notre pari. » ajoute Victoire Thevenin, directrice artistique du festival.


Le fil conducteur des Ailleurs ? Questionner et renouveler nos perceptions du réel : “Ces écritures immersives, par leur pouvoir narratif, déjouent les frontières du réel,” Benoît Rousseau, directeur artistique de la Gaîté Lyrique. “Elles nous offrent la possibilité de se plonger dans d’autres expériences de la réalité, de vivre d’autres imaginaires et de s’approprier les récits d’un monde qui change.” précise Anna Tardivel, chargée de programmes artistiques de la Gaîté Lyrique.


Programmation

En plus de l’exposition permanente, Les Ailleurs propose des performances artistiques, retransmises en ligne sur Twitch et Youtube Live ; un cycle de conférences intitulé Les Rencontres du Virtuel sur l’actualité de la création immersive ; des concerts physiques et virtuels ; des masterclass et des performances de VJ-ing


Pour ouvrir le champ de l'immersion aux jeunes publics, Les Ailleurs invitera Capitaine futur, le cycle de la Gaîté Lyrique pour le 5-12 ans, et proposera régulièrement des ateliers DIY en écho à la programmation du festival, adaptés à chaque âge : jeu en réalité augmentée, interaction, immersion sonore, narration en réalité virtuelle... La résidence de création d'ateliers Capitaine futur accueillera un.e artiste de l'immersif pour une durée de 5 mois.


La programmation complète sera dévoilée lors de la conférence de presse du festival le jeudi 11 mars 2021 à 9h à la Gaîté Lyrique.


Dix œuvres numériques en compétition

Les Ailleurs est une exposition, mais c’est aussi une compétition. Les dix œuvres numériques programmées dans le cadre du festival font se croiser dispositifs multi- sensoriels et technologies immersives : réalité virtuelle ou augmentée, spatialisation sonore ou écrans interactifs. Elles concourent pour remporter le grand prix du festival (doté de 5000 euros), délivré par un jury pluridisciplinaire lors de la semaine d’ouverture.


Un festival imaginé par Fisheye

Co-organisé par Fisheye et la Gaîté Lyrique,

avec le soutien spécial de BNB Paribas.

Fisheye

Un magazine qui décrypte le monde à travers la photographie contemporaine, des galeries dédiées au talents émergents de la photo, un producteur de contenus, un incubateur de start up dans la culture: Fisheye défriche les nouvelles écritures photographiques et leur culture. Depuis 2016, Fisheye produit des oeuvres et événements qui explorent le virtuel et le sensible en s’associant aux plus grands artistes pionniers des technologies virtuelles.


La Gaîte Lyrique

La Gaîté Lyrique est un établissement culturel de la Ville de Paris qui met en lumière les cultures post-Internet. Ces pratiques artistiques, nées et transformées par Internet, sont ici exposées, mais aussi imaginées, fabriquées, expérimentées et transmises. Espace de découverte pour comprendre notre époque virtualisée, c’est aussi un lieu de fête, de créativité et de partage.

Les Rencontres d'Arles

Partenaire historique et cofondateur du VR Arles Festival, les Rencontres d’Arles sont un véritable tremplin pour la création virtuelle et présenteront avec Fisheye en 2021 une exposition immersive innovante d’envergure qui mettra en lumière les liens entre technologies numériques et photographie.


La quatrième édition de la résidence d'écriture de créations immersives organisée avec l’Institut Français et le soutien de la Région Sud, se tiendra à nouveau pendant les Rencontres d’Arles fin août 2021. Les artistes et auteur.e.s, invités à développer un projet, continueront à explorer la création XR (XR pour Extended Reality, sigle qui rassemble les technologies immersives : réalité virtuelle, augmentée ou mixte) et formuler des propositions d’un genre nouveau.